
![]() |
C Melody Saxophone Forum / C-Tenor (C-Melody) Saxophones / Any idea what t is
NOTICE: Beginning July 10th, 2008, this message board service will no longer be active or available for use.
Next 20 Messages
Newest 20 Messages
Paul (UK)
User ID: 9252363
Oct 30th 1:16 PM
I came across this just before it ended, it would appear to have a tenor style neck but the bell seems to be to small to be a C or Bb, in addition it seems to only go down to B. I also noticed that one of the lower cups seems to be bent back on itself and I think the neck octave mechanism is missing. Is it something high pitch?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=014&item=330042246303&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
ukebert
User ID: 9112483
Oct 31st 6:55 AM
Well, he says it's from 1800, which is around 40 years earlier than Sax's first instrument (a C Bass).
It does seem to go down to low B, but it doesn't necessarily mean that it's that old, my guess (and it really si a guess) is that it's a Tenor in Bb, made 1890-1900.
Paul (UK)
User ID: 0317884
Oct 31st 10:07 AM
Thanks, it's probably just the perspective that makes the bell look so small.
Jim B
User ID: 1913054
Oct 31st 6:27 PM
I have seen a c melody in a local antique store that only went from low B to high D. It also had metal (not pearl) keys. It was made in the 1920s and was a student grade instrument. What would be interesting to know is if the ebay instrument has manual octave keys which would be the sign of an early instrument.
Captain Muggles
User ID: 9725373
Oct 31st 8:31 PM
Everyone....Correct me if I am wrong. But there were no saxophones in 1800. So whatever it is, it was sold under totally false pretenses!
Alan (UK)
User ID: 8200143
Nov 3rd 1:35 PM
I'm sure ebay will be onto that in a flash..........
:-((
Captain Muggles
User ID: 8026483
Nov 3rd 3:13 PM
Alan UK.....But then again, maybe not! Ebay is lax in a lot of areas where scamming is concerned. They want to make sure that they are politically correct, so as not to insult any of their sellers!
Alan (UK)
User ID: 8200143
Nov 4th 1:22 PM
Capn. M - I was indulging in a little bit of irony - ebay doesn't actively look for anything that may require intervention ! They just prefer to take the fees....
They have to be advised of potential scams, if you can ever get past the automated Customer Service (?) replies - which in itself is a major achievement. ............
Paul (UK)
User ID: 1355924
Nov 4th 2:40 PM
This is surely one of the most blatant yet_
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Bass-Saxophone-IW-601-Keyed-to-high-F-Bass-Sax_W0QQitemZ130042979589QQihZ003QQcategoryZ16233QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Bass-Saxophone-IW-601-Keyed-to-high-F-Bass-Sax_W0QQitemZ250046017862QQihZ015QQcategoryZ145435QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Also check out the Chinese seller's other items, pretty impressive, especially the Conn sop, it's twin is presently up to $338 in the USA.
Captain Muggles
User ID: 9725373
Nov 4th 3:49 PM
Paul....The vast majority of the Chinese vendors are a bunch of deceiving, lying scumbags. The items they advertise do not even exist. When you email them protesting their unsscrupulous business practices. They email you back saying things like "I do not understand, I am so sorry if I offended you. Let's be friends"! That's when my brain almost explodes and I want to put a Voodoo curse on them resulting in immense physical and mental harm, resulting in an inability for them to continue doing business ever again. Ah well. Maybe the Koreans will do it for me! Please! No outraged responses to this post.It is only the hypothetical raging of a musician that is totally tired of their outrageous business practices and lacadasical attitude!
Alan (UK)
User ID: 8200143
Nov 5th 8:59 AM
A tenor sax I sold recently had it's title, listing and pictures 'cloned' (copied/stolen) by no less than four Chinese sellers.
I had to inform ebay myself, undergo the 'third degree' to ensure that I was the real owner/seller, and then watch in amazement as MY sax was relisted by new Chinese ebayers as fast (?) as the old scammers were closed down !
I suppose I should have been flattered (imitation is, after all, the sincerest form of flattery), but it just left me thinking that ebay are quite hopeless at policing their marketplace ............
Jim B
User ID: 1913054
Nov 5th 9:21 AM
Keep in mind not all china made instruments are dogs. The local Sam's club sells some of the china instruments. The violin I tested was ok; the upright string bass is a real good instrument. The clarinet I tried was a dog. Playing the 1st line E note was impossible, the lever for A (2nd space) was in the way. Tone holes were placed in impossible places.However I heard the Simba saxs were decent copies of the Selmer Balanced action series saxs; expecially the soprano and alto---I heard this from a sax repair person I trust. All in all it is really a hit-or-miss problem to see which instrument is decent.
Captain Muggles
User ID: 8026483
Nov 5th 1:45 PM
Jim B.....I did not say anything at all about the quality of the Chinese instruments. In fact I own 4 Chinese made saxes, A Jupiter Baritone and 3 Monique saxes, (Curved soprano, alto & tenor)> They are great saxes. I use them all the time. (At least 3 or 4 times a week)! All I said is that the majority of the Chinese vendors on Ebay are liars and cheats. There! I guess I couldn't say it any plainer than that. Please don't anyone contradict me. It is true PERIOD!
Jim B
User ID: 8430353
Nov 5th 6:24 PM
The majority of vendors must be 3 out of 4, or 51 out of 100. I find the majority of vendors on ebay in some ways are all liars and/or cheats; there is no quality control to weed out the bad sellers on ebay.I still would like to play an instrument before buying; call me old fashion.Whatever you do don't contradict me, I'm staying the course.
Alan (UK)
User ID: 8200143
Nov 5th 8:18 PM
JIm - ebay searches allow for selection of items within a 10 or 25 or 50 (etc.) mile distance of your own post/zip code - so you could check the instrument out first, if the seller is agreeable. But this will obviously limit your choice.
I sell on ebay - do you mean that there's a 'better than even' chance that I'm a liar and/or a cheat ? If I wasn't such an easy going guy I might just take personal offence at a comment like that........
Captain Muggles
User ID: 9725373
Nov 5th 8:30 PM
Alan (UK)...I'm glad it was Jim that said that and not me. "the majority of vendors, etc., etc., etc.". I just said the "majority of Chinese vendors were liars and cheats"! I definitely stand by my statement!
Jim B
User ID: 8430353
Nov 5th 9:37 PM
How do we know you are an easy going guy since we don't know you personally; you could be a chinese lying vendor. But you could be in the minority of vendors on ebay and be a really nice guy. For stuff I buy now, I limit my search to 10 blocks not miles; my wife says I have too many instruments. I still don't know what I'm doing with 4 C melody instruments. I can only play one sax at a time.I still stand behind my statement----way behind.Taiwan instruments are a whole lot better than mainland china (for brass and woodwinds).
Captain Muggles
User ID: 8026483
Nov 6th 8:53 AM
Jim B....My saxes are made in Taiwan. (Part of China, I presume)!
Alan (UK)
User ID: 8200143
Nov 6th 12:00 PM
OK Jim - since you aren't liable to buy anything off me, or (it would seem) anyone else on ebay, I've nothing to prove..........
I'll just say "Xia Wu Hao" and leave you with this thought. The majority of Taiwan based enterprises now take advantage of much cheaper manufacturing and production costs on mainland China. "Made in Chiwan ?"
7U1U79uo1H
Jan 11th 2:08 PM
Hi! Very nice site! Thanks you very much! vDdytDUmpiZ
Next 20 Messages
Newest 20 Messages